December 30, 2013

Cover Reveal for Star of the Team by Beverly Stowe McClure

Coming in January from 4RV Publishing:

STAR OF THE TEAM by Beverly Stowe McClure

A girl.
A dream.
An accident.
A dream shattered.
 
Ten-year-old Kate Taylor wants to be the star of her basketball team, Angels, but when her tooth is knocked out at one of the games, her goal is in jeopardy. Even though the dentist replants the tooth, her mother, who is also her coach, refuses to let Kate play unless she can come up with a way to protect the tooth.
 
 With the encouragement of her friends and teammates, Kate tries everything. She asks her sister, Zoe, how her boyfriend, Ray, protects his teeth when playing football. Zoe is clueless. Kate wears her friend Simon’s catcher’s mask to practice, but it’s too big and blocks her view of the goal. Kate stuffs cotton balls in her mouth and thinks she’s swallowed one. Nothing works.
 
 To add to Kate’s problems, Emily, the new girl at River Bend Elementary, is great at basketball. Kate worries Emily will be the star of the team. On top of that, Simon, the school brain, as well as klutz, says he plans to join the Angels, even though boys are not allowed.
 
 In the final game of the season, Kate faces a decision that will not only decide who wins the game, but whether she’s star of the team or not.

Be sure to add STAR OF THE TEAM to your 2014 to-read list!

 
About the author:
 
Beverly Stowe McClure is the author of picture books, early readers, middle grade and teen novels. She is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, both national and North Texas. A fourth generation Texan, she lives in the country with two cats, and a variety of wild critters.

Congratulations, Beverly. Can't wait to read STAR OF THE TEAM!

December 18, 2013

Enter to Win Before Dec 20th

My KING OF BAD Standard Virtual Tour comes to an end in just two days. Hurry to enter to win a signed bookmark and a $25 Amazon gift card. You only have through December 20th, so don't delay.

Two simple ways to help me spread the news of the tour during these last two days:

  1. Visit my Facebook page and click like and/or share on the links to the stops. 
  2. Click the social media buttons in the blog posts to post to your Twitter, Google+ or Facebook account.

Here are a list of my tour stops:

December 2: Reading In Twilight
December 2: Bunny's Review
December 3: Andi's Young Adult Books
December 4: Welcome to My World of Dreams 
December 5: Dawn's Reading Nook Blog
December 6: Books on Silver Wings
December 9: Long and Short Reviews
December 10: Straight from the Library
December 11: Sandra's Blog
December 11: Writing into the Sunset
December 12: Lisa Haselton's Reviews and Interviews
December 13: My Tangled Skeins Book Reviews
December 16: Wicked Readings by Tawania
December 17: J.C. Martin, Fighter Writer - Review
December 18: Queen of All She Reads
December 19: Unabridged Andra
December 19: Farm Girl Books
December 20: Kit 'N Kabookle


Just to be clear, this is a completely separate giveaway from the Review Tour that recently ended.

Thanks for helping me get the word out and good luck in the giveaway!

December 13, 2013

Enter to Win by Dec 16th

The reviews are in, but the giveaway isn't over. However you only have a few days to enter to win a signed bookmark and a $25 Amazon gift card. 

November 22: Love is a Mystery

November 29: Unabridged Andra

December 6: Books in the Hall 

December 13: Dalene's Book Reviews
December 13: The (Mis)Adventures of a Twenty-Something Year Old Girl


Plenty of ways to enter - but HURRY, giveaway ends December 16th!

For a chance to win second prize, follow my Standard Virtual Book Tour. Stops can be found on my website: www.kaistrand.com

December 11, 2013

Three Times A Charm with Jennifer Gladen

Welcome to Three Times A Charm. I love meeting new authors, illustrators, bloggers, agents, editors or promoters from the children’s publishing industry and sharing their careers with my readers.

Today’s guest is a fellow GAP author, Jennifer Gladen.

Jennifer Gladen is a children’s author who lives and writes in Pennsylvania. She is the author of A Star in the Night, Teresa’s Shadow, and Angel Donor through Guardian Angel Publishing. She contributes as a columnist at Catholic Mom and is a member of the Catholic Writers Guild (C.W.G.) and the S.C.B.W.I. She has written several children’s stories, poems and articles, and started her own Catholic e-zine titled My Light Magazine.

Hi Jennifer! Welcome to Strands of Thought. Can you tell us about your books.

A Star in the Night- David makes his way home on Christmas Eve and sees this is no ordinary night. Accompanied by a shimmering star and some tough decisions, David encounters three experiences that will change his view of Christmas forever

Teresa’s Shadow- One night at bedtime Teresa discovers Corky, a furry visitor, in her room. Corky is no ordinary monster. In fact he seems just as scared as Teresa. Teresa soon realizes she must help Corky get home. But how can she when she’s afraid of the dark and Corky is afraid of the light?


Angel Donor – Olivia never asked to have a disease like Biliary Atresia. It made her liver sick and only a transplant will make her better. After waiting several months and close to losing hope, she gets the call she’s been waiting for. The journey of her life is about to begin

I also do school visits and presentations about writing and the publishing world. In addition, authors frequently ask me to review and critique their work. So I am happy to announce that I am available to offer my critiquing and proofreading services for a small fee. Contact me at jennifer_gladen5@msn.com with Critique Request in the subject line if you are interested in a professional critique at a low cost. Include in your e-mail: title, word length, genre and age group. I specialize in children’s literature.

I recommend my book to readers who like: 

A Star in the Night is pretty unique, but it’s closest to picture books on the true meaning of Christmas. Fans of Go Away Big Green Monster or A Monster Under Alex’s Bed may enjoy Teresa’s Shadow. Angel Donor is another unique book, but similar books are Now Caitlin Can and The Inside Story.

Readers, Jennifer wants to know: If an author could visit your child’s school, what would your child enjoy the most? What would they want to see?

Now, for the Threes. Share with us your top 3’s to help us know you a little better.

  • Top 3 skills to hone for people just starting in your business.

Three skills an author must hone are: Submission Etiquette, Using a critique group, and patience. I also run a children’s magazine, and these issues pop up all the time. Follow the submission guidelines to the letter. Include your cover letter and bio – look professional. Critique groups are essential both for those just starting out and for experienced authors. The last thing you want to send to a busy editor is a rough draft. Finally, patience is a must. Following up is good and crucial, but allow for the allotted time listed in the guidelines. You want your name to be known for your work, not as THAT author.

  • Top 3 leisure activities.

I read. I read every night. Reading ties right into writing. My other relaxing activities are enjoying a cup of coffee while reading my SCBWI bulletin, and networking with other authors (Yes, I am attached to my computer. But, my kids and my cat always know where to find me.)

  • Top 3 professions you wanted to be when you grew up.

I always wanted to be an author. I wrote in journals, diaries and old copybooks to create books.  I also wanted to be a teacher and a mom. Interestingly, I have managed to do all three. But writing has always been my first love.

 Where can our tech savvy readers find out more about you and your work?

Please include contact information; websites, blogs, social media here:
You can find me and my books at:
Twitter: @jengl

Thank you for charming us on this week’s Three Times A Charm, Jennifer! Best of luck to you and your writing.

GUESTS WELCOME!  I am always looking for guests for Three Times A Charm. If you are an author, illustrator or book reviewer, an agent or an editor. If you have something related to children’s publishing that you’d like people to know about, feel free to contact me about a future appearance

December 4, 2013

Three Times A Charm with Connie Arnold

Welcome to Three Times A Charm. I love meeting new authors, illustrators, bloggers, agents, editors or promoters from the children’s publishing industry and sharing their careers with my readers.

Today’s guest is author, Connie Arnold. Connie is a fellow Guardian Angel Publishing author. She’s here today to celebrate her most recent release from 4RV Publishing. Welcome to Strands of Thought, Connie! Can you tell us a little about you, please?

I live in North Carolina with my husband, and we have two children and three grandchildren. Writing inspirational poetry and books for young children has been a focus of mine in the last few years. In addition, I am a musician and volunteer for Lupus Foundation of America. 

Tell us about your newest release.

Count 1,2,3 With Me is my second picture book. It is illustrated by Ginger Nielson and published by 4RV Publishing. I also have four books of inspirational poetry and a recently released devotional. On my blog, www.conniearnold.webs.com, I share poems, excerpts and reviews of each book, and signed copies can be purchased. I also have a blog for sharing poetry and my children’s blog, http://childrensauthorconniearnold.blogspot.com

I love that you write for so many different audiences. It shows you are a well rounded human being.

Now, for the Threes. Share with us your top 3’s to help us know you a little better.

  • Top 3 snacks to munch on while working.

My first thing in the morning food to eat is a banana, and that is often my most productive writing time. Other snacks are apples and trail mix (I just have to be careful to only have a small amount of this on hand or can get carried away eating it!).

  • Top 3 leisure activities.

When I have leisure time, I enjoy listening to music, either just relaxing and listening, or more likely doing something else at the same time, like checking emails and reading friends’ status on facebook. I also love to read and always allow some time for that each day, usually just before going to bed.

  • Top 3 professions you wanted to be when you grew up.

I loved music from the time I was very small, so I wanted to be a musician, preferably an extremely talented and famous one! I did get that wish, but on a much less grand scale. For a while I wanted to be a teacher, one like a teacher I had that I loved and admired and who made learning fun. The closest I’ve come to that was in writing Count 1,2,3 With Me, which helps children learn to count in a fun way! Next I wanted to be a nurse, but only for a short time because I didn’t think I could ever give somebody a shot and felt terrible around a person in pain. Although I didn’t follow through on that desire at all, my daughter is working toward becoming a nurse, and I’m thankful for that!

Where can our tech savvy readers find out more about you and your work?

conarnold@gmailcom
@conarnold - Twitter

Connie, thank you for charming us on this week’s Three Times A Charm! Best of luck to you and your writing.

GUESTS WELCOME!  I am always looking for guests for Three Times A Charm. If you are an author, illustrator or book reviewer, an agent or an editor. If you have something related to children’s publishing that you’d like people to know about, feel free to contact me about a future appearance