May 14, 2014

Three Times A Charm with Marva Dasef

Welcome to Three Times A Charm. I love introducing my readers to new authors, illustrators, bloggers, agents, editors or promoters from the children’s publishing industry.

Today’s guest is author, Marva Dasef. Thanks for joining us, Marva. Please tell us a little about you.

Thank you, Kai, for giving me a little of your valuable web space. It’s appreciated.

I’m a retired tech writer now making my way in fiction. Primarily I write fantasy books for kids from ten to 100. When I first began my authorial career, I wrote lots of short stories, and have had more than 40 stories published in various on-line and print magazines. In 2007, I decided to try for a longer book via NaNoWriMo. I got my 50K words (many of them to be tossed out). That gave me the confidence to write longer works. Most of my books are in novella length (35K-50K) because that’s the right length for younger readers (and the length I prefer on my ereader). Since my first published book (actually a collection of short stories), I’ve published ten books in print and ebook format. Most recently, I’m having my books produced for the audio market.

Congratulations on the audio books. That’s exciting. Now, we’d love to hear about your series, The Witches of Galdorheim.

The Witches of Galdorheim is my pride and joy. The books are contemporary fantasies following the exploits of a young witch as she learns to use her magical powers. The switch-up is she and her family live on an island in the arctic, the home of the witches who escaped the inquisition in the 15th C. Everyone on the island is a witch. Katrina, my main character, has plenty of magical power, but everything she tries ends up a disaster, hence the first book’s title, “Bad Spelling.” I think the tag lines for the three books give a good idea of the story and tone:

Bad Spelling: A klutzy witch, a shaman's curse, a quest to save her family. Can Kat find her magic in time?

Midnight Oil: Shipwrecked on a legendary island, how can a witch rescue her boyfriend if she can’t even phone home?

Scotch Broom: A magical trip to Stonehenge lands a witch in the Otherworld where an ancient goddess is up to no good.

I recommend my books to readers who like Terry Pratchett’s Disc World series, J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series, or Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series.


Now, for the Threes. Share with us your top 3’s to help us know you a little better.

  • Top 3 books you recommend reading and why you recommend them.

I recommend any or all of the books by Pratchett, Rowling, and Riordan. I read them all and can’t choose only three.

  • Top 3 tools of the trade you couldn’t live without.

Open Office (word processor) and MS Paint for production. My books could not exist without the internet. I research...a lot.

  • Top 3 favorite places.

For visiting, I’m always willing to return to the Oregon coast and Great Britain. Otherwise, home is where my heart is.

Where can our tech savvy readers find more about you and your books?

Twitter Handle: @Gurina

Marva, it was lovely to have you on this week’s Three Times A Charm. Best of luck to you and The Witches of Galdorheim.

THANKS!

GUESTS WELCOME!  I am always looking for guests for Three Times A Charm. If you are an author, illustrator or book reviewer, an agent or an editor. If you have something related to children’s publishing that you’d like people to know about, feel free to contact me about a future appearance.


22 comments:

  1. Thanks for having me, Kai. It was my pleasure.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Riordan is amazing! I love his books. Congrats to Marva!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm one of three people on this planet who isn't a Riordan fan. Something about his writing voice just...I don't even know. I feel so alone ;)

      Delete
    2. Nothing wrong with that, Kai. There are a few very popular writers out there making wads of cash whose popularity are a total mystery to me.

      Delete
    3. It would be great to be someone's wealthy mystery author, wouldn't it ;)

      Delete
  3. Some people don't like Riordan messing around with mythology to write an entertaining story. I think that's silly. It's not history after all! Thanks for stopping in Kelly.

    ReplyDelete
  4. What a great interview! Nice to meet you Marva. The books sound great!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Mary. I like to think they're good reading. The series is next up for audio book treatment. I can hardly wait to hear how my narrator pronounces Runic words of power.

      Delete
    2. That will be fun, Marva. Is it possible to google the pronunciation? Lol.

      Thanks for visiting, Mary!

      Delete
    3. Kai: As a matter of fact, you almost can. Google translator was quite helpful since the ancient Runic words are quite close to Icelandic. At least that's what I've told the narrator.

      Delete
  5. Marva's Witches of Galdorheim series are excellent choices for anyone wanting to avoid that ugly "cringe" factor I personally abhor. Yet they're not "good girl" books. Rather, I think they're more "real girl" books. I just wish Marva would get on with writing the serious adult Witches of Galdorheim sagas. The actual "why the witches had to escape to the island home," the "journey to the island home and setting up the first camp," then the sequel to that--the travails of making the island a home. I'm waiting, Marva!! And, yes, total thanks to Kai Strand for interviewing Marva and giving me a chance to get after her just one more time. :D (Yes, Marva and I are friends.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol. I love passionate readers. I also like the "real girls" description. Thanks for stopping in!

      Delete
    2. Anytime. Marva can tell you that you'll regret that invite. ;D ||chortle, snort, chuckle||

      Delete
    3. Yeah, yeah, DL. That would require actual research. While I'm not averse to screwing with mythology, I take my history quite seriously.

      As for the adult story, maybe the tragic love story of Thordis and King Ole? Those in the know will get a giggle from that idea.

      Delete
    4. That would be good, TOO, Marva, dearestly nefariously hedgingest authoress in need of a swift boot to "git it in gear." ;D.

      Delete
  6. I'm so pleased so many of you stopped in to comment. I think we writers sometimes think we're shouting into the wind for attention. A huge thank you to Kai for hosting me and having so many followers of her blog it made me feel special.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad to hear that, Marva. You are a wonderful guest!

      Delete
  7. It's wonderful to learn more about Marva! I love witches. The books sound awesome. Riordan rawks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love witches too. I could never get behind the idea of evil witches. They've always been forces for good in my mind. Thanks for stopping in, SA.

      Delete
  8. Marva, fun to read your post at Kai s. All the best in all your ventures.

    ReplyDelete